Downgrading a Reseller to a User


Enter Your Query:
Use '%' for wildcards and quotes for "exact phrases"


Top Level » DirectAdmin

Downgrading a Reseller to a UserLast Modified: Oct 7, 2011, 3:48 pm
If you've got a Reseller account which you'd like to downgrade to a User account, the process is fairly simple.

We'll assume the Reseller's name is fred, and fred will soon be a User.
We'll also assume that fred has no Users below his account.

1) Convert fred's account type to be a User.  Edit

/usr/local/directadmin/data/users/fred/user.conf

and change the line:

usertype=reseller

to become:

usertype=user



2) Update the lists.  Edit:

/usr/local/directadmin/data/admin/reseller.list

and remove fred from it.


3) Edit:

/usr/local/directadmin/data/users/admin/users.list

and add fred to it.


4) Give fred the bad news that his account has been downgraded.


We don't need to delete the Reseller-related files, since they won't hurt anything.  They're also handy in the event that you want to upgrade him later.

© 2018 JBMC Software, Suite 173  3-11 Bellerose Drive, St Albert, AB  T8N 1P7  Canada.  Mon-Fri 9AM-5PM MST